Fermi surface and 2D spin texture

Queries about input and output files, running specific calculations, etc.

Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator

maxime_laniel

Fermi surface and 2D spin texture

#1 Post by maxime_laniel » Wed Jul 31, 2024 1:31 pm

Dear VASP team,

I am relatively new to using VASP, but would like to plot the Fermi surface and 2D spin texture of some materials. I have a code in PyPROCAR which will allow me to plot the results, but I don't know exactly how to do these calculations in VASP. Can someone explain what are the needed calculations and how to execute them in VASP?

Thanks.

manuel_engel1
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Fermi surface and 2D spin texture

#2 Post by manuel_engel1 » Thu Aug 01, 2024 8:10 am

Hi Maxime,

Thanks for posting on the VASP forum. I am unfamiliar with PyPROCAR so I'm not sure what is required besides the PROCAR file from a VASP calculation. The wiki page I linked to already contains some great information on how to calculate the required projections in VASP. However, here are some additional pointers:
  • Set LORBIT=11 to generate the PROCAR file with minimal effort (mind: this setting might not be the most suitable for your system. Please, always do your own testing).
  • Set ISPIN=2 together with MAGMOM for collinear spin-polarized calculations.
  • Set LNONCOLLINEAR=True for a non-collinear magnetic calculation.
  • Make sure that your k-point mesh specified in the KPOINTS file is suitable for displaying the Fermi surface.
For general questions regarding the usage of VASP, I refer you to the online documentation on the VASP wiki. Here is a list of example calculations that use the LORBIT tag.
Manuel
VASP developer

maxime_laniel

#3 Post by maxime_laniel » Thu Aug 01, 2024 1:04 pm