VASP 6.5.0 segfaulting with OpenMP parallelization

Questions regarding the compilation of VASP on various platforms: hardware, compilers and libraries, etc.


Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator

Post Reply
Message
Author
asrosen
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2023 4:51 pm

VASP 6.5.0 segfaulting with OpenMP parallelization

#1 Post by asrosen » Tue Jan 28, 2025 7:31 pm

I am trying to use VASP 6.5.0 with Intel OneAPI 2024.2 and with OpenMP parallelization. While everything runs correctly with MPI (i.e. changing the number of nodes works as expected), the OpenMP parallelization (i.e. changing cpus-per-task in Slurm) results in a segfault with no clear explanation as to why. I remain unable to resolve the problem.

The following Slurm directives are fine:

Code: Select all

#SBATCH --nodes=1
#SBATCH --ntasks-per-node=112
#SBATCH --cpus-per-task=1   

The following Slurm directives are not fine:

Code: Select all

#SBATCH --nodes=1
#SBATCH --ntasks-per-node=56
#SBATCH --cpus-per-task=2   

All of the relevant files are attached to this post, except for the POTCAR. To summarize things, here is the seg fault info in slurm-493108.out:

Code: Select all

srun: error: tiger-g04c4n9: tasks 14,27,47: Segmentation fault (core dumped)
srun: Terminating StepId=493108.0
slurmstepd: error: *** STEP 493108.0 ON tiger-g04c4n9 CANCELLED AT 2025-01-28T14:28:42 ***
forrtl: error (78): process killed (SIGTERM)

The makefile.include is based off of makefile.include.oneapi_omp. All I did was change MKLROOT and enable the HDF5 flags, setting HDF5_ROOT as well.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

alexey.tal
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 12:45 pm

Re: VASP 6.5.0 segfaulting with OpenMP parallelization

#2 Post by alexey.tal » Wed Jan 29, 2025 8:38 am

Dear asrosen,

Thank you for your question.

This issue could be related to the OMP stack size. Could you try to set the following variable and run your test again?

Code: Select all

export OMP_STACKSIZE=512m

Best wishes,
Alexey


Post Reply